Why I don't speak

Hi. You many know me as Kyle or Luvvy on the server

I've been in this community for 6 months but you still may not know me. Anyways its no big secret that I don't talk. The reason is mostly because.

Spoiler

I never felt comfortable. One of the biggest reasons I don't talk is that I've always been uncomfortable about my voice. I sound so much younger than my actual age and I just feel like if I do talk then I wouldn't be taken seriously. I don't want to feel limited on the server because of my voice. Like I don't want people assuming my age or questioning the legitimacy of it. Like ever since I started playing video games, I've never spoken. It is more of me being really self-conscious and mostly because I don't want people to treat me differently because they assume I'm young because of my voice. 

There was once an instance on a different server where I was actually demoted because they thought I was "lying about my age" and I was "too young to hold my rank" and I know it isn't their fault. Like I know younger people have it harder on online games because they have a constant burden of always being mature because as soon as they act out they'd be called out for it because they are young and I don't want that to happen to me because my voice is high. I never wanted to be treated differently because I sound younger, like I don't want people to think I'm incapable of doing things just because my voice sounds younger than my actual age.

I apologise for making everyone's life a bit harder because I know it takes longer to talk to me since I have to type everything.

So yeah that is why I don't speak. It might sound like a stupid reason but I just wanted to explain why.

• Sad 1
  • Upvote 10

Personally, I don’t really see anything wrong with people not wanting/choosing to use their microphones.