Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Remus

Hostage situations in events

This is a suggestion for some rules pertaining to events, specifically when a hostage situation occurs.

When a person is taken hostage, assumedly a high ranking officer, the priority should be to save the life of the officer, that's why there are negotiations.

But whenever there is a hostage situation, the end result is a firefight between the hostage-takers and the troopers with the hostages being swiftly executed and being revived after.

so I believe there should be a rule about not reviving a dead hostage. The ability to just revive them removes some of the importance of negotiation.

If the hostage dies. the troopers fail, no reviving them and celebrating a job well done. 

This is a lot better RP wise and is more realistic.

as a Navy officer, I am a common hostage, it's annoying and frustrating when you know the negotiations will never last and you'll just be revived so it doesn't matter anyway. 

I hope this will be taken into consideration and would like to hear what you guys think of this

Navy Lieutenant Commander, Mandor Teth 

Edited by Remus
  • Upvote 2

+1 

The way current hostage situations are handled kind of breaks the immersion of the RP. Everybody just turns to shooting as soon as one round of negotiations fail or something along those lines. I'd love to see some more RICH RP from the troopers in these kinds of situations.

Edited by Brass

This rule would make more sense if personnel with any significant importance were captured.

Too many times has a Janitor, Workman or simply low-ranking person been captured and, to be honest, there is no incentive to negotiate for their life. I have recently ordered troopers to cease attempting to negotiate because the SOLE hostage was a Workman, like who actually cares?